Newbie needs HELP with mast step repair.

biobaysharon

Hi Everyone.
My name is Sharon . I am a newbie. I just bought a 77 Sunfish.
This is what I have done so far.

• Leak tested hull. It only leaked from coaming attachments and at the seam between hull and deck at one corner at stern.
  • Removed trim and coaming.
  • Cut two holes for ports. One in stern and one behind coaming.
  • Put fan in stern inspection port to dry out boat but she only weighed out at about 125 when I got her.
  • Repaired attachment holes with epoxy . Repaired a couple of gouges.
  • Repaired seam with epoxy.
  • Did a little gelcoat over holes . Didn't match it so good but I tried . Ready for new rivets.
  • Water tested the mast step. No leaks after 45 minutes.
My concern lies with Mast step tube. I have included pictures looking into tube and from inside hull. Looks to me like it was repaired inside hull but I dont't know for sure. The sides of the inside of the tube has wear in gelcoat which I think I can patch with epoxy but at the bottom of step inside there is a ledge and it is cracked with pieces missing. I hope that it repairable. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you Sharon

mast step.jpeg
mast step2.jpegMast step 3.jpeg

Doesn't look too bad, plus, the deck doesn't seem to be involved. The interior base of the mast step and daggerboard trunk always look "somewhat unfinished". :oops:

Since it's not a repair I've actually done, I'll refer you to the "Search" feature. Scroll to the very top of the page, and click on the magnifying glass. Type in your specific concern, and click on "This forum". The member's name can be left off—then click "search".