Mast step chipped - help?

DoctorCAD

Hello all,

I am new to Sunfish ownership and eager to get her on the water but I'm concerned about the mast step. Below is a pic of my mast step/tube/hole that has some large chips in the gelcoat. The mast step holds water and there are no visible cracks on the deck surrounding the tube. Any recommendations from those of you who have experienced this problem(or similar problems) and fixed it are greatly appreciated.

mast step.jpg

Two thoughts: if it is holding water just go sailing! Second, if you want to try a fix, get some Marine Tex and a long stick. Gob in enough Marine Tex to cover the spots, but not too thick or the mast won’t go in. MT is pretty thick so it won’t sag much but you will need to keep an eye on it.

Thanks Beldar! If I use Marine Tex, do you think there is any merit to covering it with wax paper or mylar to squish it against the fiberglass and then peel wax paper or mylar after it cures? It's been a very long time (20+ years) since I've done any work with fiberglass or epoxy.

Painter plastic drop works aw well.

Another option is getting a caulk cartridge tube of TotalBoat THIXO or Pettit Flexpoxy for that repair. WestMarine sells the Pettit and Jamestown Distributors sells both.

Whatever you get, check the daggerboard trunk also, especially the fore and aft curved section. We use a paint stick to smooth down the mast step repair, and a paint stick spilt lengthwise for the daggerboard. Watch the video for a special tip :)