Major deck failure - mast tube collapsed

Marcov67

Hello,
This is an old Sunfish (1974); I bought it second had, sailed a few times until yesterday under moderate wind conditions (15-16 knots), on close reach, the mast suddenly collapsed into the deck.. as shown in the photos.
I am new to sailing but this did not happen under any special circumstances, of wind or rough waters. Could have resulted from me doing something wrong during rigging up of the mast, or it's just due to the old age of the boat? Do you think it is repairable? Thanks for the comments!

Marco

Attachments

• IMG-5398.jpg
    IMG-5398.jpg
    689.7 KB · Views: 65
  • IMG-5397.jpg
    IMG-5397.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 57
Looks like the step tube failed at the lower end, then the flailing wind-driven rig above caused further damage to the deck... same thing happened to my Laser, only it didn't quite tear up the deck so badly. Yes, it can be repaired, and no, you are not necessarily at fault, these things happen aboard older boats which have seen plenty of use. First order of the day will be to install an inspection port where it'll do the most good as you repair the step & deck... BTW, is your splashguard mounted incorrectly? Maybe it's just a weird camera angle, but it looks cattywampus, or improperly aligned. If so, you should also fix that while you're at it... deck fittings can be removed and/or relocated during this whole process as well (if necessary, or if you'd rather put them in better position). Just my $.02, but I've seen this sort of damage before... :confused:

Last edited:
Don't feel bad about your "older" Sunfish. The newest Sunfish ($5500 in 2020) are doing the same thing--with less wind! :confused:

Of my five present Sunfish, one "took it on the chin" with a downburst "cell" that shredded the sail and broke the mast. MPH? About 80! :eek: No mast step damage.