Mainsheet tamer?

Vic Roy

Okay folks, remember I'm a novice. The mainsheet line between the boom block over the barney post and the boom block at the aft end of the boom sags when tacking and gets hung up on my hat, sunglasses, or worse, my neck. I'm thinking about adding a fairlead or eye strap on the underside of the boom between those two blocks to hold the sagging line up. Seems like an obvious fix, but a couple of my "obvious fixes" so far (like adding the extra cleat on the front of the mast) have been less than fixes. Any thoughts, pro or con?

Thanks,

Vic

An easy cheap fix

Well, I don't happen to have that problem, but I remember when I raced Lido 14's that some people had a simple loop of duct tape hanging down. I assume they taped the inside of the loop with a second layer with the shinny side out so the line didn't stick.

Thanks, Jim, I'll give that a try before getting further into it. How come you don't have the poblem? Am I doing something wrong?

Vic

Mainsheet tamer