Loring Still Leads after Day 3

Thread starter #1
Protests and redress hearings are going on now, but the bottom line is Dave Loring remains in the lead over Marx Chirnos after Day 3. David Mendelblatt had a mixed day with two bullets and a bad one. There are about five guys who could win with a good day on Friday.

Also interesting is the women's championship. Philipine Van Aanholt of Curacao holds a slim lead over Andrea Aldana of Guatemela. A video of Andrea talking about her experience with the Sunfish has been posted to www.sunfishworlds.com under the Videos tab.
can someone tell me what the "ZFP" means that shows up on several of the racers scores, particularly in race 6?
Never mind... I found an explanation - I googled a while earlier, but wasn't having much luck.
Here's what I found: http://www.halsraceresults.com/FAQ/scorepenalty.aspx

Boats are commonly given scoring penalties for one of two reasons: either they were over the line at the start and the race officer has imposed a 20% penalty under Rule 30.2 (also known as a Z Flag Penalty);


Upside down?
Staff member
Here's a possible scenario for a Z start:

World championship with 72 sailors, adrenaline flowing, all close to the starting line and vying for a good position. The Committee boat is on the right, looking upwind, and a pin boat is on the left. Because there are so many boats, it's often difficult or impossible for a sailor to see whether you are over the line or not. Nobody wants to be behind at the start because the leading boats will cause a lot of bad air for the latecomers. So everybody is pushing, but most aren't certain about their exact position. Now we have the start. Unfortunately, so many boats were over the line that the RC can't score them all, or can't see some/many of the numbers. Two horn blasts: General Recall.

This scenario may repeat itself, but it some point the RC will change its starting procedure to get a clean start off. They may try the "Around the ends rule" first. The I flag will be raised (four minutes prior to the start). This means that if you are in the triangle formed by the Committee boat, the pin and the windward mark, you need to get back behind the line by sailing around either of the ends. This rule applies only for the last minute prior to the start. The RC may also choose to raise the Z flag. This means that if you are in that triangle during the last minute, 20% will be added to your score (for that race). You still need to be behind the line of course at time zero; otherwise, you will be scored OCS (On Course Side). The most drastic measure the RC can take is raising the Black Flag; you will be DQ'd when in the infamous triangle during the last minute.

In club races these situations seldom occur, but at higher level events they do. The Black Flag will usually quiet the fleet down when the other two measures don't work. The RC may also try the I and Z flags simultaneously.

Recording the numbers of offending boats for any of these situations is not trivial (sail numbers being blanketed by others etc.) and mistakes are sometimes made.


New Member
I love this Zulu flag thing. It's sneeky only because so many people have not seen or experienced it before.:confused:

The wonderful thing about the 20% penalty is that it carries over and accumulates for a given race. Lets say the Z flag is up and there are several general recalls. The ZFP penalty does not go away with general recall. It carries over and sticks with you regardless. Also, if you get two ZFP penalties for the same race, then you get two 20% penalties. That's just so wonderful. The only thing that will save you from a ZFP penalty is if the race is postponed or abandoned.:eek:

I noticed that at least 10 guys in one race got the ZFP penalty, so I'm guessing that at least one general recall occurred. It's very tough to call that many boats on one start, unless many were not paying attention, didn't see the Zulu flag, wandered over the line within the last minute and got picked off one at a time. In that case, sucks to be you.:(