Lightweight Laser Sailor Tips and Techniques?

GeoffS

I'm not a lightweight, but many of the students in my Laser lessons are. I'm having trouble describing the best techniques for handling the boat (esp. upwind). I'm fine with the normal depowering techniques, but I really have a hard time describing the best way for someone in the 100-130 lb range to sail upwind when they are tremendously overpowered (say in 15 kns of wind with the full rig).

I'm particularly interested in any ways people have for helping students find the proper balance between easing the sail, and falling off to keep the speed up. It seems that most of my lightweight students end up on a close reach (a good 10 degrees below my upwind course) when they try and balance keeping the boat flat, and not slowing down too much.

The club doesn't own a Radial or 4.7 rig yet; I'm hopeful that we will get one of each next year.

Cheers,

Geoff S.

I don't race and I'm no expert so I can't say if what I do is optimal, but in 18+ knots I tighten the c. and v. and o. as per folklore and after that I let out the sheet until I can keep the boat flat. In 20 knots my boom is even with or outside the gunnel. Note that I leave some slack in the outhaul for powering over waves.

I see no choice but to let the main out since sailing flat is essential in these conditions otherwise the weather helm torques the boat into a stall. You can pinch a bit , but again you stall if you over do it.

Your students are probably sailing below the proper course to attain the speed they kind of expect in a big wind, but often big winds means big waves upwind and thus the expectation of going fast should be diminished.

By the way, if anyone knows a better way to handle big winds feel free to correct me.