What's new

Laser Medal Races; Rio 2016

Wavedancer

Upside down?
Staff member
The race is on!
Gary Jobson and Randy Smyth are commenting.
Wind is medium; small waves
Sweden is first around the windward mark, Ireland second and GBR third
 
Last edited:

Wavedancer

Upside down?
Staff member
Sweden still ahead through the gate; she is not in a medal position.
 
Last edited:

Wavedancer

Upside down?
Staff member
Light wind now
Second time around the windward mark:
GBR has taken the lead
NED has dropped down to 8; her gold medal is in danger... IRL may have a chance
 
Last edited:

Wavedancer

Upside down?
Staff member
No; it didn't happen. GBR ended up winning the race; she passed SWE close to the gate.
NED finished in 7th place, enough for the GOLD
IRL got the SILVER and DEN the BRONZE

Several of the sailors jumped in the bay, apparently not afraid of whatever may be in the water.
 

Wavedancer

Upside down?
Staff member
Men's race
CRO (the leader) had to do a penalty turn and started last
Medium wind going upwind
GUA first around the mark; BRA second; NZL third
CRO still last, but ARG was over early and has to retire
 
Last edited:

Wavedancer

Upside down?
Staff member
Through the gate
BRA (Scheidt) first
FRA second
NZL third
CRO still last but apparently still in gold medal position (according to the commentators)
 
Last edited:

Wavedancer

Upside down?
Staff member
Scheidt (BRA) looking strong going upwind for the second time
Nicely ahead around the windward mark; then
FRA
NZL
GUA
AUS
NED
 
Last edited:

LaLi

Well-Known Member
Laser Men
GOLD - Tom Burton (AUS)
SILVER - Tonči Stipanović (CRO)
BRONZE - Sam Meech (NZL)
 

Wavedancer

Upside down?
Staff member
Finish:
BRA (Scheidt)
FRA
AUS; which makes Burton the GOLD medal winner!

Note: Burton (AUS) match raced Stipanovich (CRO) prior to the start and CRO committed a foul (the umpires were watching). As a result, AUS was next to last across the starting line with CRO last. During the race, AUS was able to pass a number of boats, CRO didn't.

I noticed: the umpire boat was watching the match racing very closely and a wave from their boat may (!) have pushed CRO into AUS (both were sailing backwards). Agree or disagree?
 
Last edited:

LaLi

Well-Known Member
the umpire boat was watching the match racing very closely and a wave from their boat may (!) have pushed CRO into AUS (both were sailing backwards). Agree or disagree?
After re-watching the footage many times, I can't tell. The contact would have probably taken place anyway, although that wave (some of which actually ended up in Stipanović's cockpit) maybe sped up the process.

In any case, Stipanović wasn't "keeping clear" by the RRS definition. Furthermore, there's a sailing instruction that says, "No proceedings of any kind may be taken in relation to any action or non-action by an umpire."
 
Last edited:
Top