Class Politics Laser and the Apple iPhone

They are also using somebody else's name - "iPhone" is actually owned by Cisco (and used for a current product which is a type of telephone !!).
These days Apple have little regard for things owned by others. I think they think they are big enough to ignore such things.

Ian

Isn't the Laser logo identical to the international symbol for laser, as in laser beam? I'm no copyright lawyer, but it would seem to me that the logo is only protected as such if it is used in relation to a type of sailboat, but in other semantic relationships it's fair game.
Currently, Walmart and the originator of the smiley face are in court over whose intellectual property the smiley face is, so I guess the ILCA with all those big bucks saved up could use its financial clout to sue the hell out of anyone who even thought about using the laser symbol for anything! ;)

point, the laser symbol/logo has been on are sails since the 70's the class or manufacture must have some sort of pattent on it.

Cool there's some Apple fans around too :)

The Laser logo (our boat) is identical to the Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation (LASER) logo which dates back to the '50s.

Any laser pointer or CD reader/burner has a laser safety logo sticky inside. I think it can be openly used.

I don't doubt the builders may have a copyright of this symbol, but I doubt they have a legal case because they copy it from the original work developed at Bells Labs in the 60s. It was a nice find Wavedancer, fun indeed.