Is this a sunfish?

Dorda

Nice web page and forum,thanks.Newbie here,yes I browsed the page to find the answer to my question,which is,what kind of boat is this,and when was it built?I've had it for a number of years,and finally gave it a little overhaul.There are no serial numbers anywhere that can be found.The cockpit seems much larger than all the other pictures I've seen.The rudder bracket was made by yours truly,so don't let that fool you.

Any help is appreciated,

Brett

Attachments

• Dorda (2).JPG
    Dorda (2).JPG
    164.6 KB · Views: 76
  • Dorda (3).JPG
    Dorda (3).JPG
    166.7 KB · Views: 73
  • Dorda (9).JPG
    Dorda (9).JPG
    172.8 KB · Views: 65
Nice web page and forum,thanks.Newbie here,yes I browsed the page to find the answer to my question,which is,what kind of boat is this,and when was it built?I've had it for a number of years,and finally gave it a little overhaul.There are no serial numbers anywhere that can be found.The cockpit seems much larger than all the other pictures I've seen.The rudder bracket was made by yours truly,so don't let that fool you.

Any help is appreciated,

Brett

It is not a sunfish, but the fish on your sail is an angelfish so I assume it is called like that
I could't find any information about it

Matias Jochamowitz

what kind of boat is this,

when was it built? There are no serial numbers anywhere that can be found.

The cockpit seems much larger than all the other pictures I've seen.
Gosh, I'm fighting the urge to just say, "sailboat" :rolleyes: ... sorry, you set up the straight line so perfectly, I just couldn't help myself.

Is it a Sunfish? There are two ways to answer that. The name sunfish has been genericized over the years to represent nearly any beach boat with a lateen sail. In actuality, Sunfish is a trade mark name first registered to a specific beach boat by Alcort Inc. in around 1952. So, in general, your boat is a sunfish-like boat, but it's not a brand name Sunfish.