I want to build a Super Sailfish. Advice wanted!

Aiden bradley

Hello all.
I'm currently gripped by sailfish madness. I want one, I will have one! I'm at the initial prattling about stage at the start of every project but I'm pretty confident that I can pull this one off. I want to build a super sailfish. I'm in the process of considering materials and methods of construction. For all the purists out there I will apologise in advance, I want to use mainly plywood in its construction, and I haven't dis.issed the notion of using stitch and glue construction, which I've had some experience of doing with other boats. Has anyone on here made either a sailfish or a sunfish using these methods? The idea is to make this on a mega low budget, so hardwoods are not happening and also I want to make this a light, car toppable hull. Could I realistically build the hull with 6mm ply sides, rather than the hefty mahogany planks which the originals were made fro. If anyone has any wisdom about sailfish construction is be most grateful. I've found loads of resources about restoring old boats but not a lot regarding recent builds.

There are plans for a sailfish on the old Yahoo Sunfish forum. I will see if I can dig them up, but I am certain that someone here must already have them.
Is there any reason that you wouldn’t want to rehab an old fiberglass one? They can usually be had for a reasonable price. You might want to buy one anyway, just for the parts. The rudder assembly can be hard to find, as it is not the same as the Sunfish’s.

Aiden,

Kent Lewis (AKA "Signal Charlie" on this Forum) is the resident expert on wood sailfish. I am confident he will chime in. I have a pretty good supply of Sailfish for sale if you need some items.

Alan Glos
Cazenovia, NY

Alcort Sailfish Plans Page 2.jpg

Super Sailfish Plans Alcort.png