How can I take a sunfish apart ?

workingovertime

Hello---I picked up a Sunfish for free today and it has a hole in the hull, a big one. Is there a way to take the deck off the hull ,so I can get at the inside to repair the hole. The foam is also loose inside the hull ----has anyone taken a sunfish apart and put the boat back together ? I work in the autobody repair industry , I have experance with repairing fiberglass . I just started fixing up Sunfish's and selling them as a hobby,but this particular hull is really bad, :confused: I like to fix it from inside--------------thankyou

Hello---I picked up a Sunfish for free today and it has a hole in the hull, a big one. Is there a way to take the deck off the hull ,so I can get at the inside to repair the hole. The foam is also loose inside the hull ----has anyone taken a sunfish apart and put the boat back together ?
Usually most any hull repair is done through an access you fiberglass closed when you have finished so there's hardly any evidence a repair was done; Or perform a one side (blind) fiberglass fix; Most typically one or two inspecton ports are installed and the repair area accessed through the ports. These often times become a storage lazarette afterwards.

The hull can be separated, but it's not recommended to lift the deck completely off. There are obstacles such as keeping the hull "square" and reforming the deck crown upon reassembly. Along with those, the mast tube and foot-well tub connections which are fiberglassed in, top and bottom.

Here's a look at one way to re-secure loose flotation blocks...

Re-attaching loose foam blocks

new-5.jpg

All these guides apply to boats built before 1986. At that point in time the hull to deck bonding method changed. I am not aware of anybody separating the deck off the hull for the newest style.

I noticed in your picture album you worked on a 1950's wood hull Sailfish. Have you got any before and after photos? Those are cool boats when they're all fixed up.