Hitting start mark

Thread starter #1
Sorry if this has already been discussed- I have a question on starting.

If a boat hits the start mark, does the boat have to cross back to the start side of the line and recross to properly start or can they just do a circle down the course? I looked in the rules and wasn't clear about it.

Any expert advice is appreciated.
 

LaLi

Active Member
#2
The rules don't say anything about where to do the penalty turn except "well clear of other boats". In practice, it depends on whether you started prematurely or not. If you were over the line early, then of course you want to come back right away while taking the mark-hitting penalty "as soon after the incident as possible", but legally the two are separate issues.
 
Top