Heeling/Need help

andy2000

Hi all. I'm a novice laser sailor and i'm trying to understand more reading 'A Laser training manual' by Anderson. In mainsheet adjustment section it is stated that
"As the sailing angle is reduced, and the boom is brought forward to sail higher into the wind, the total aerodynamic force is
directed more laterally. Consequently, the relative size of the driving force decreases and the heeling force increases"
but when i sail and heel so much for me i always harden up to reduce heeling and it seems on the contrary stated in the book.
Someone can explain me better?
thanks

That passage sounds quite misleadingly written. "Bringing the boom forward" makes no sense.

I'm not familiar with the book, but it looks like it's available as a free PDF, so I'll see if the context makes it any clearer.

_

As I expected, the quote is about comparing the relative forces acting on the sail reaching vs. upwind. Just change that one sentence to "...and the boom is sheeted in..." and it makes sense again.

What you're thinking about is feathering, which is a much smaller course change to depower when already sailing upwind. It's actually defined in the book just before that passage on page 27, and again on page 48.

Interesting book, by the way. Lots of outdated content, but mostly useful reading nonetheless. Please ask more questions if you have any!

_

Hi all. I'm a novice laser sailor and i'm trying to understand more reading 'A Laser training manual' by Anderson. In mainsheet adjustment section it is stated that
"As the sailing angle is reduced, and the boom is brought forward to sail higher into the wind, the total aerodynamic force is
directed more laterally. Consequently, the relative size of the driving force decreases and the heeling force increases"
but when i sail and heel so much for me i always harden up to reduce heeling and it seems on the contrary stated in the book.
thanks