Hatch Size for Catalina Capri 14.2

tibb1997

I just purchased a Catalina Capri 14.2 but have not picked it up yet. There is no cover over the hatch. It just has snaps where I guess you could have canvas cover made for it. However I would like something more water tight than that. A new hatch cover through Catalina is around $120.00. I found a Bomar Style Hatch, size 10 x 20 inches for sale on-line way cheaper. It looks like it is made of plastic and/or fiberglass. The hinge opening appears to be a more secure opening system than the Catalina made version. I was wondering if anyone would know if I could use this Bomar Style hatch cover instead. I've never heard of Bomar. It looks like it shows pre-drilled holes for around the opening which I'm wondering could be used and the previous snaps on boat removed? Any one out there have any suggestions and advise? I'm new to this boat but have sailing experience on other boats. Thanks to anyone who can help me out! Cindy

Sounds like the boat you bought is a Mod 2 (same as I have). It has a "tunnel", which replaced the cuddy in Mod 1. I don't think that any of the commercially available hatches fit (including the one from Catalina) without a lot of modification. The one from Catalina is for the Mod 3. Others might be able to speak to this better than I, but my understanding is that the Mod 3 hatch won't fit the Mod 2 opening. Look back in old threads; seems to me there were several that went into this in some detail, and my recollection is that everyone thought this would be pretty tough. :(

Cindy, my Mod 2 came with a black canvas cover which is actually a bag with a zippered opening. It snaps on at the sides and bottom and attaches at the top by velcro. It works really well for my purposes, I use the bag for stowing my halyards when the sails are raised, really keeps things tidy and out of the centre board trunk.