Gelcoat Color

highpressure

Hello Sailors,

Does anyone know what Brightside Color of off white the Capri 14.2 gelcoat most closely matchs?

Thanks,

Dave

I am interested to find out too. Is there any difference based in the model and year of production? Mine is 91.
What is a good place to get product of that nature.
This is a great forum wit a lot of great information,but I just got the boat, so all this is new to me, I am afraid it is going to be a lot of questions.
Thank you

In refference to my previous question about Interlux Brightside or a similar brand of polyurethane.
I want to repair some scrapes that go down to the fiberglass mat. Can I tint the resin with gelcoat or something or is polyurethane paint the best way to cover the yellowish tint of the resin.

Thanks again for any help.

Dave

P.S. I have worked with fiberglass before, but am weak at the cosmetic part of getting the repair to look good.

Hi All,

I am new to the Capri and haven't yet put mine into the water. I am replacing the gel coat because I had over 1000 scratches in the original. Looked like it was tied to a barbed wire dock. Both sides were covered in hundreds of scratches most down to the glass. So I do have a bit of experience trying to match the original color. I couldn't, and wound up rolling gel coat onto the whole thing, stripes and all. I have used the gel coat from both West Marine and Boat US and between the two, I like the West Marine stuff better as it dries harder and doesn't need a release agent to cure. It is just not as smooth as the stuff from boat US and that is why I have been sanding since January. I am half way done.

If you are trying to fill a small scratch, the gel coat may be enough but I found that filler compound is much better at getting the scratch filled. The filler will cure pretty dark so I covered it with new gel coat. On a small area, you can't tell the shade difference with new gel coat.