Gearing up

scap114

As the boats in the north start being readied for the season has anyone else found that the little projects have turned into more than you expected. Want to share your stories of getting the boat ready? In my case, it was the trailer. One of the tires had gone flat during the winter. As I looked at the trailer I decided I should replace the lights, and also grease the bearings and get the tire remounted. When I tackled the bearings I found the races were pitted, so it turned out to be new races, seals and bearings. The lights are still in the package, that is for another week.

Great topic.............
I have been gearing up since August 2006 to sail this Memorial day weekend 2007. I picked up a nice used SF in upper state Michigan last August. The former owner is an avid sailor and ice boater in the upper state of Michigan. The boat has had some scuffs repaired (w/ West Epoxy) from racing taps and a couple of bow scratches from the tack bolt, but very solid, light and the top deck is very bright for a 1979. I bought the boat without a trailer, and the story starts. I transported the SF in the rear end of my 2002 Envoy with the bow handle under my right elbow and the stern cantilevering out the back end for abaout three or four feet. I began my search for a trailer that same week. Late October I finally found a little fixer upper trailer that turned out to be an all aluminum Trailex trailer. It originally was a double decker, but seems to have rolled over judging by the scratches and torn fender on one side. The axle had only one race and was not in production anymore. The trailer dates back to the late 60's. So I had to have a custom narrow axle made, new light set, strip the peeling black paint off the aluminum frame, and build a great bunk craddle I found on the SF Sailor Forum too. I noticed some day light under my coaming while working in the garage (25-30 degrees with a heater) this winter. Two of the rivets had pulled part way through the