Frostbiting Outfit

Jbarth13

Hi

I'm looking to step into both frostbiting and the laser class this winter. I've already got the boat, and now I'm looking at gear. I have an old drysuit that should work, some polypro long johns, some fleeces and hats, and a pfd. From what I understand, I still need boots, hikers, and gloves. Any recommendations on any of these items? I'll be sailing in MA/Newport, so temps will be pretty low. As far as hikers go, I was looking at getting some SEA 3/4 airprenes, to be worn outside the drysuit (so it doesnt get ripped). I figure that they probably wont do much for warmth outside, and I want the versatility of the airprene for summer. I'm a college student, so I'm really trying to keep costs down. Any recommendations?

Thanks
Jon

i use shorts outside instead of hikers. last year i was on a tight budget so I just bought as i needed after. as long as the drysuit is dry you should be all set. Boots well what ever you desire or use in the summer. aigle are the old standbys

Jon,

I don't think that wearing hikers on top of the dry suit will work because dry suits tend to be bulky. Perhaps you can wear hikers underneath.

I wouldn't make too much of a fuss about the clothing issue. You are new at frostbiting, without a trust fund, I gather, and you already have a lot of clothing. Just layer what you got, based on the environmental conditions.
Boots maybe nice, but aren't required. I just wear an old pair of sneakers over the booties on my suit. Thicker (wicking) socks if it gets colder. Or does your dry suit not come with booties? I have read good things about Goretex socks but they are $$$.

Protecting the suit with short pants as Beaker suggested is a good idea; I got a small rip in my suit because of a nail in the dock.

Gloves (the right kind) are definitely important; you can use the Search function to find out more, if necessary. Or consult the Sailing Anarchy "Gear" section.