exposed foam

SteveJ

Hello All,

This may seem ridiculous but here goes. I'm just learning to sail and I picked up an old Sears Whirlwind (looks like a Sunfish to me). It cost almost nothing and the sail and topside is in great shape but there's no covering on the bottom of the boat; just foam. The plastic covering below the trim (water line), is completely removed.

Can I create a new cover by using epoxy, fiberglass, or something that will harden over the foam rather than melt it? I found something called vanillacryl which -might- work. Has anybody every done anything like this?

Thank you,
Steve

SteveJ said:
"...Can I create a new cover by using epoxy, fiberglass, or something that will harden over the foam rather than melt it? I found something called vanillacryl which -might- work. Has anybody every done anything like this...?"
Epoxy (West® System) would work, and you'd have a very strong hull when finished. But you'd have 'way too much money in the job, and not a have a particularly smooth and symmetrical hull when finished. Count yourself lucky you got the rigging and sails cheaply.

OTOH, there are plenty of used Sunfish around with bad sails (torn, stained, squirrels, bats).

Put an ad in your local paper for "Used Sunfish sailboat wanted—condition unimportant". With any luck, you'll get a bad sail—but a good hull! Even if the topside is bad, you can peel the top and bottom apart and epoxy your two good halves together.

(I'd throw out the foam inside anyway and replace it with new foam or other floatation—keeping in mind that the foam is part of the structure that strengthens the topsides.)

P2
Wolfeboro

Weren't those boats made for Sears by Snark? Might be the boat was just foam like the early Snark boats. As I recall they looked like a $1.99 beer cooler with a sail. Contact the Snark people and see what they suggest is compatible for foam.