Easy De-power

alittleton

I inserted pictures in the attached word document since they don't appear to be visible within text.

I got to thinking, after sailing in the 2007 Worlds for my first time and watching Dave Mendelblatt (about 140 pounds) win race 7 (heavy air )with an extreme 24” Jens rig. (Dave literally lowered the bar, pun intended) I was looking for an easier way to make it adjustable from Normal to 24”. 24 inches is the distance the halyard is tied below the normal position to de-power.

What I came up with appears to be legal and functional. This should help level the playing field in heavy wind conditions. Even our light weights could now stay competitive. Some tweaking of the rules would help make it even more user friendly.

I have developed what I believe is an improved Jen’s rig for de-powering the sunfish. I have been using this rig since the worlds, in all conditions, trying to learn how much power is needed. I am still learning. I encourage others to comment, try it and further develop this idea.

Materials needed or recommended:
1 Halyard 25’ 4 mm dia. (Standard length) Small dia. So both lines fit through mast cap hole.
1 Jens line 34’ 4 mm dia. Spectra. (Slippery)
1 cleat on mast.
Tape to prevent Spectra line from slipping on upper spar.

1). Mount the cleat to the mast at the position of your choice. Mine is 45” from the bottom of the mast. Within the 48” limit, but away from the deck where the highest stresses are.
2). The halyard is very simple. Leave it in the normal position on the upper spar and run it through the mast cap.
3). Next the Jens line is tied to the upper spar 24” down form the normal halyard position.