Deck Delamination Repair - suggestions?

GeoffS

Hi all,

I've been working on boats for some time, but I'm new to the intricacies of Laser repair. I have a '94 Laser with some deck delamination (spider cracks). I was planning to do the normal trick of drilling a bunch of holes and injecting WEST into them, but I thought it would be a good idea to tap into the collective experience of the class for any hints/tips.

My current plan is to drill a series of 1/8" holes on an approx. 1" grid through the deck and core, but stopping just at the inner skin. Then inject unfilled (neat) WEST and wait for a few minutes so that whatever absorption may occur can happen. Finally suck the excess unfilled epoxy out and fill the hole with a fairly stiff mixture of spoxy and some high-strength filler (probably WEST 404 High Density Filler).

Any hints, tips, or suggestions on better ways to approach this problem?

Cheers,

Geoff Sobering
[email protected]

I don't have any tried and true unconventional solutions to the DECK delamination repair problem, but I have successfully taken care of COCKPIT delamination problems.

The standard epoxy resin injection method outlined above adds much unwanted weight to the core foam if the delaminated area is significant. The method I used on my cockpit sole was able to keep my late 1980's Laser at its original 128.5 lb. hull weight (inc. standard hull fittings).

You can find the details in the drLaser website, "Maintenance & Fitness" section.

See: " Major surgery for severely damaged Laser cockpit soles".

Available to ILCA members only (except in North America, where it is available to ALL sailors.)

Cheers,

Shevy Gunter

Thanks for the reply. So far, I haven't be able to get to the drlaser.org articles with the asterixes... Please let me know what I need to do to access them (I'm quite interested in a number of the maintenance articles).