Class Politics Cunningham Quick Release

J

JohnPorter

Since one of the biggest hassles with the pro rigging is to tie the bowline in the cunningham line going through the sail, would it be legal to use a tylaska spool shackle or similar quick release device to attach this line. Doing so would allow more consistent and simple rigging of the cunningham.

I hate to be rude, but come on, its bowline, it take 10 seconds....

Re: rabbit goes out of the hole...

The bowline time isn't the big deal in my limited experience. At the end of the day under a load, it's trying to get your fingernails in to get that bowline apart in that skinny waxy red line. I bring a sharp awl to get it apart if it's too tight.

I'm no expert but Rule 3 (a) vi says, "When an “Optional” block, or shock cord is attached to a fitting, line, mast, boom or the sail, it may be attached either with or without a shackle, clips, balls, hooks and/or a tie line." (My emphasis).

So am I right in thinking that the primary cunningham line may be attached to the top block through which the secondary line runs with some kind of shackle or quick release clip?

So am I right in thinking that the primary cunningham line may be attached to the top block through which the secondary line runs with some kind of shackle or quick release clip?

VtGent49 has a shackle on his C'ham, so it must be right! :D

I hate to admit it in public, but I spent the money for Rooster Sailing's cunningham secondary line that has an eye splice in both ends. It's nice to have.

Here are some pictures of a system I've been using for several years. The "quick release" part is a wichard shackle which is small enough (just) to pass through the tack cringle (with a non-captive pin).

Attachments

• CHam.jpg
    CHam.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 392
  • CHamBottom.jpg
    CHamBottom.jpg
    49.1 KB · Views: 401
  • CHamTop.jpg
    CHamTop.jpg
    43.3 KB · Views: 336