carbon tiller retaining pin... yes or no?

Should I drill a hole in my carbon tiller for the retaining pin?

• Total voters

JohnK

I just got my Black Diamond carbon tiller and look forward to trying it out. However, I was curious to learn if others have drilled a small hole into the tiller to accept the retaining pin. It seems like it would be a good idea to use the retaining pin, but I am not sure if the hole weakens the carbon in any way or has other ill effects.

So, should I drill a hole in the new tiller for the retaining pin or not?

The fit in the rudder head is nice and snug, and with the downhaul on, it serves to keep the tiller locked firmly in the rudder head, so the pin is not needed. I've been sailing w/o one in mine for a couple of years.

If im not mistaken, the pin is necessary in regattas?

I drilled mine just for that reason, but i often dont worry about actually putting it in.

Not needed under class rules:
16c says
[font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=-1](c)[/size][/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=-1]The use of a tiller retaining pin is optional.[/size][/font]

It's just one more thing for the mainsheet to catch on during a gybe too

49208 said:
It's just one more thing for the mainsheet to catch on during a gybe too

That's why I stopped using the pin, however I have a rule that the pin goes in before I release the downhaul, which I sometimes remember .

peterbye said:
That's why I stopped using the pin, however I have a rule that the pin goes in before I release the downhaul, which I sometimes remember .
I only have used the ACME BD tiller, even w/o the downhaul on, it's still pretty hard to have it fall out of the rudder head, due to the snug fit and the distance between the trav. and the downhaul cleat. If your trav is on tight, the tiller won't come all the way out of the rudder head as the cleat hits the trav....