Car Top Transport

IthacaSailer

Howdy All,
I'm new to the Laser World, having recently acquired an old Laser (#6140) in remarkably good condition. I need to transport it to Minnesota from central New York next summer. If possible (and safe for car and boat), I'd like to put it on top of my Subaru Outback Wagon. Can anyone give me some specific directions for devising a rig/rack for the top of my car or a list of to-do's or do-not's? I'm on a sandy beach in MN so can easily get it in and out of water there without having to buy a trailer.
IthacaSailer

I move three lasers from home to vacation using two on a trailer and one on the roof. I have a larger Odyssey wagon, but the Subaru should work just fine. I purchased a set of Thule racks that match my car. I purchased the extra long bars that are several inches wider than the hull. I put swimming "noodles" over the bars for protection and placed the boat deck down on the rack. I use good ratchet type web straps to tie the boat to the rack. I also then use rope to tie the boat to the car front and aft to prevent forward and backward slipping. If you are familiar with mooring larger boats, think spring lines. As an example from the boat cleat I run one line forward under the grill to the frame. The second line runs back under the deck and then to the rear bumper. The front line keeps the bow from moving side to side. The rear line keeps the boat for movig forward on a sudden stop. Now use two move lines connected in similar fashion to the traveler eyes and you should be good to go.

The Odyssey claims a 100 pound limit for the roof rack. The hull is more than that, but I have never hadd a problem. I keep to a safe speed and drive gently.

As always, your mileage may vary; offer only good for the next 30 milliseconds, ...

Spars? What's a spar?