Ben Ainslie sculling vid - is this legal?

boikie

New Member
Thread starter #1

In this video Ben Ainslie says that he "waggles the tiller on one side of the boat and then on the other side" to keep the boat head to wind.

Is this legal? According to this document, I think it is not:

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/Rule42Laser201320032014-[16804].pdf

2. Sculling
Generally sailors scull from above a close-hauled towards a close-hauled course. Sculling a Laser tends to be forceful as gentle movements with the Laser rudder have little effect, except in light air.

Permitted actions: • Gentle rudder movements through the centreline that do not propel the boat or prevent it from moving astern. • Sculling, even forceful, when a boat is above close-hauled course and clearly changes direction to a close-hauled course. – 42.3(d), SCULL 1 • Repeatedly moving the helm to reduce the speed. – 42.3(f)

Prohibited actions: • Sculling below a close-hauled course, often in an effort to stop the boat immediately going back to head to wind or to duck in to leeward of another boat • Forcefully sculling on both sides – SCULL 2 • Crabbing, but only if the rudder movements are forceful enough to offset the steering caused by backing a sail. This will result in the boat moving to windward, parallel to the starting line. – SCULL 3
Emphasis mine... So sculling on both sides is a no-no, right?
 

thieuster

Active Member
#2
Who am I to comment or criticise Ben Ainslie. I'm only capable to sail keelboats and yachts...

But having said that, I think this should come with some sort of 'Don't Try This At Home' sticker on the cover. He clearly states what's allowed and what not (paraphrasing his words). So perhaps done like this, is legal. However... I've seen a bunch of yellow flags during last years WC under 18 in Kiel. Unnecessary yellow flags, for skulling (and also for rocking), because those youngsters THOUGHT that they'd managed the fine art of just staying within the rules.

Watching the start line from a position in the waiting area during the WCship in Kiel caused some toe-curling moments... Those kids are focussed on all details of the start, but forget to look over their shoulder where they would be able to see a Jury rib inches away from their transom, with a man holding his flag in the start position... One single sculling movement, performed illegally is enough for a 'yellow' and a whistle.
 

LaLi

Well-Known Member
#3
Ha! Hadn't seen that clip for a long time, although the book that includes that CD is right here next to my computer... it was published seventeen years ago now. I remember there was discussion of these techniques at the time, and several International Judges thought this was illegal, and I think there were even some educational videos made shortly afterward to show how you can not do it like Ainslie! (There was some questionable downwind action as well.)

So yeah, that's illegal. You can scull to one side to change your course, but not alternately to both to stay in place.

(How old is that ISAF guide by the way?)

_
 

Rob B

Well-Known Member
#4
This is old. He's using the "classic" rigging. He does say it's illegal to "waggle" the tiller from side to side, but not illegal to scull to stay on one tack or bear away. I'm not sure if the rule was re-written, but either way I'd agree with LaLi on this one as he does cross the tiller over a couple of times all the while sculling like mad!
 

boikie

New Member
Thread starter #5
(How old is that ISAF guide by the way?)
Published in 2015.

I'd agree with LaLi on this one as he does cross the tiller over a couple of times all the while sculling like mad!
I think you're only allowed to scull from above close-hauled to close-hauled, if stationary or moving slowly. And you're not allowed to offset your movement by sculling in the opposite direction.

This is what I gather from reading this other ISAF document:

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/InterpretationsR42May2017AW-[23702].pdf

42.3 Exceptions
d When a boat is above a close-hauled course and either stationary or moving slowly, she may scull to turn to a close-hauled course.

Interpretations (Sculling to Turn the Boat)

Scull 1 Provided the boat’s course is above close-hauled and she clearly changes direction towards a close-hauled course, repeated forceful movements of the helm are permitted until the boat is on a close-hauled course. This action is permitted even if the boat gains speed. She may scull to turn to a close-hauled course on either tack.

Scull 2 After a boat has sculled in one direction, further connected sculling to offset the first sculling action is prohibited.

Scull 3 Sculling to offset steering of the boat caused by backing a sail is prohibited.
According to this, Ben's sculling was illegal on two counts:

1) Sculling to windward.

2) "Counter-sculling", or sculling to offset the movement caused by a previous sculling action.

The bottom line is that you're only allowed to scull if stationary or moving slowly, from above close-hauled to close-hauled. Any other sculling action is illegal.

Any thoughts on this?
 

Rob B

Well-Known Member
#6
Published in 2015.



I think you're only allowed to scull from above close-hauled to close-hauled, if stationary or moving slowly. And you're not allowed to offset your movement by sculling in the opposite direction.

This is what I gather from reading this other ISAF document:

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/InterpretationsR42May2017AW-[23702].pdf



According to this, Ben's sculling was illegal on two counts:

1) Sculling to windward.

2) "Counter-sculling", or sculling to offset the movement caused by a previous sculling action.

The bottom line is that you're only allowed to scull if stationary or moving slowly, from above close-hauled to close-hauled. Any other sculling action is illegal.

Any thoughts on this?
Agreed.
 
#7
It wasn't illegal to scull to leeward turn into the wind back then as long as the tiller crossed the centreline slowly - so effectively you could scull to turn the boat either way but not to propel forward. Of course they've change the rule since - I can't remember for sure but think the change was in the 2005 edition of the rules.
 
Top