Advice on purchasing a used sail boat

austin1225

Forgive me for my ignorance but I am new to sailing. I am trying to purchase an entry level sunfush to learn on. After a lot of research I found one yesterday but it seems really rough. The person selling it does not know the year but here are the rest of the details:
13-14ft AMF "AMFLITE" (is that even a sunfish?) WITH TRAILER.
Trailer seems to be OK
Needs new sails
Daggerboard and rudder are missing

Any thought are appriecated. I think... I ma looking at about $100-$150 for new sails and I have not been able to find a daggerboard or rudder. Are those difficult to come by? Apparenlty the Mast and hull are in good shape and he tells me their are no softspots. Not sure whatother questions to ask.
Thanks again for your advice!

Forgive me for my ignorance but I am new to sailing. I am trying to purchase an entry level sunfush to learn on. After a lot of research I found one yesterday but it seems really rough. The person selling it does not know the year but here are the rest of the details:
13-14ft AMF "AMFLITE" (is that even a sunfish?) WITH TRAILER.
Trailer seems to be OK
Needs new sails
Daggerboard and rudder are missing

Any thought are appriecated. I think... I ma looking at about $100-$150 for new sails and I have not been able to find a daggerboard or rudder. Are those difficult to come by? Apparenlty the Mast and hull are in good shape and he tells me their are no softspots. Not sure whatother questions to ask.
Thanks again for your advice!

You can search the forum (use 'amflite') and find out more about this cheaper offspring of the Sunfish. Considering the parts that are missing it doesn't seem to me that this boat is worth much :(.