Advice from Experienced sailors

D3AN

Hello every one,

My name is Dean, im 19, live in london.. Currently manager of a bar, in kensington, and i just joined this forum today... Been looking through it, and it seems to be very helpful, and it's active which is a bonus!

I've been speaking to UKSA and im looking at doing there 'ocean graduate' course.. im very new to sailing, and dont have many logged miles.. Do you think this is a good way to get into it.. Any adivce, and tips would be greatfully appreciated!

Thnxs a lot for any help you may be able to give me..
Dean

Dean,
I am also new to the forum AND am a novice laser sailor. I am, however, a professional yacht captain and have sailed around the world amongst many of the best sailors/yachtsmen. My experience tells me that the very best sailors are the people who have learned to master the skill of dinghy sailing. They are the one's who are able to handle the 120 ft. + sailing yachts with skill and confidence.
I would recommend that you concentrate on the skills of sailing a dinghy first, and then worry about learning to handle a larger vessel.
I hope this helps.
Ken

Hey, welcome to the world of sailing! :D

First thing i did when i started sailing was join a club. Clubs are great. why? they have sailors, boats and facilities. As long as the club you choose is active and friendly, you should find someone to sail with or a boat to sail on by yourself easily. Some people are hell bent on getting a racing dinghy as a first boat (i.e. A Laser), you can but it makes it a lot easier if you sail something that requires less skill first off.
You're totally on the right track in contacting local associations, as they will be a great help in guiding you to a club, and offering other advice on sailing in general. The great thing about dinghy sailing is that its such a social sport. I hope i've helped! Cheers mate

Been very helpful guys, any advice gived is greatfully appreciated...