Advice Appreciated

Hello Laser Forum

I am new to laser saling and have been out a few times in light seas without a problem.

On my last trip out the wind was about 15 knots and found I couldn't sail upwind; When I tried to sheet in the main to fill the sail, the boat would heel over to much. When I eased it, the sail wouldn't fill.

Can anyone suggest as to where I am going wrong?

Hello Laser Forum

I am new to laser saling and have been out a few times in light seas without a problem.

On my last trip out the wind was about 15 knots and found I couldn't sail upwind; When I tried to sheet in the main to fill the sail, the boat would heel over to much. When I eased it, the sail wouldn't fill.

Can anyone suggest as to where I am going wrong?

Did you flatten the sail with the sail controls (cunningham, outhaul, and vang) to depower and also hike hard? If you did all this and the boat still heeled too much, maybe you don't weigh enough to hold it down.

sometimes we forget what it's like to be a beginner -- too much information all at once.

Merrily's advice is a good starting point -- you want to set up your sail in a "depowered" way before you ever sail away from the dock. So the cunningham, outhaul, and vang will all be as tight as you can make them. (Some sailors would tell you to leave a little slack in the outhaul -- enough to barely slide your hand between the mainsail and the boom -- roughly 3 or 4 inches; not too much!)

Now, out on the water -- I'm guessing you're not using the tiller and the mainsheet in coordinated fashion. They work together to let you sail the boat upwind.

First, it's important to start with some way on. Don't try to go from a standing start or luffing or in irons to hard on the wind. We're just working on the ability to sail upwind at all -- racing starts will come later.