adjusting trim

squeakywaffle

Hi-

I'm a bit of a newbie here... I bought a laser for myself because the price was right and I've been trying to teach myself to sail with a decent degree of skill.

I'm getting to be comfortable with the boat in most conditions, but one thing that still evades me is sail trim. I know the theory and I can trim for conditions before I leave shore, but I have no idea how the hell you guys manage to reach those ropes while sailing, especially the vang and outhaul....? Anyone feel like giving me a pointer or two?:D

squeakywaffle said:
but I have no idea how you guys manage to reach those ropes while sailing, especially the vang and outhaul....? Anyone feel like giving me a pointer or two?:D

Do you have the old or new rigging?

My rigging is straight out of 1984, with the addition of a new traveler which doesn't help much.

It looks pretty old to me... it certainly isn't the "racing package" or whatever.

Here's the deal with the old rigging:

Outhaul:
Adjust on shore and forget.
Vang:
almost set and forget- to get it in, head into the wind, stand up and lean on the boom, take up the slack. to let it off, do the same thing.

Squeaky...One of trhe pleasures of the old rigging was that no matter how long everybody used it, anybody could go to any regatta and learn about some new beter way to "make the damn thing work without cheating."

The evoloution of the old rig almost stopped when the new special rigging was made legal but some of us still love to fiddle.

The old rig set up as I keep it on my loaner boat ( I can't aford fancy rigging for two boats) is on this page. The bad part is you really need to spend money on a bunch of feet of 100% Spectra lines. On the other hand, the same lines that I took off my race boat in 2002 are still working fine on the loaner boat.

http://schrothfiberglass.com/RiggingforLaser.htm