What's new

A question on using class legal sails


New Member
I just recently got an intensity sails mkII to use as practice sail, but as luck would have it I ripped my race sail so I have a conundrum. I could stick numbers on it and use it in regattas but I'm wondering if i could get away with it?


Depends on the regatta and how strictly they are enforcing class rules. I've found many multi-class regattas to be flexible but if its a dedicated ILCA race it probably won't be allowed


Active Member
Depends on who is looking closely at your sails during the race. Without the button and logo, it is quite obvious. I personally would not attempt to race in a regatta with an illegal sail. Maybe a beer can race or local series would be fine for me, and if I won a race, I would not accept the trophy and admit I didn't have the correct sail.