3/16 or 1/4 inch clevis pin on Vang

Mawill

Hello,

Was all excited this week - got the upgraded vang - and like a present with no batteries - there is one problem.

The hole on mast tang is 3/16th of an inch diameter. The clevis pin on the vang assembly is 1/4 inch. Now - what to do?

Option 1a -
I could get a new Mast Tang with the correct diameter hole but that means drilling and re-riviting the mast - potentially weakening it.

Option 1b -
Use the original clevis pin - the 3/16th one in the new vang. It has a head that is big enough, but am not sure that it is strong enough - my assumption is that I would bust the boom before I broke a stainless steel pin - but I am not an engineer.

Option 1c -
Drill the hole out to 1/4 inch. Could do this, but if I had a nickel for every drill bit I have melted attempting to drill SS....

Opinions?

Thanks
Matt

Matt,

Just drill out the hole on the mast tang. Use a sharp bit, medium speed - and put a drop or two of oil on the tip of the drill bit. Most any oil will do (not WD-40).

Slow, steady pressure, and you will cut right through. Remember, you are only enlarging an existing hole, not making a new one. Much less wear and tear on the drill bit.

Hi,

Thanks for the advice.

I did try drilling it yesterday (using a neighbors drill bit) and well - drill bit is no more. I used WD40 so maybe that was the issue. I guess I will give it another go.

Thanks
M

Nothing against WD-40 - it is a wax-based product and good for what is was designed for.

You need a cutting oil on the bit to lubricate it and help it cut throught the SS. Any heavy oil (like motor oil) will suffice.

Medium drill speed, moderate pressure - you can do it!

Since you owe your neighbor a bit, do yourself a favor and buy a new 1/4" bit, drill the hole and give him the bit when you are done. A new bit will cut SS easily, just follow the advice above..

The key to machining SS is to always keep the bit cutting.