Worth the Restoring Hassle?

Sailor Roberts

Hello,

I recently aquired a 1965 Sunfish. The bottom is covered with old crusty bottom paint and some terrible (but small) bondo like repairs.

I'm wondering if I should prep and gelcoat, or just prep and paint the bottom.

The boat was given to me, and it's probably only worth $200 at the most after I clean it up. It does have all its hardware (and a few spyders).

I'm just learning to sail, and if I did fix it up I would probably keep it for a bit. I would like to race it for fun. I think it's kinda cool having a boat that's older than I am. The lady who gave it to me said she used to race it when she was young.

Thanks, SR

HI CHRIS

If I Were You I Would Just Sand Off The Bottom Paint Using Medium Grit For The Heavy Areas Of Paint And Then Switch To Fine Grit When You Get To The Existing Gelcoat Then Wet Sand With A Very Fine Grit Paper. As Far As The Bondo Areas I Would Remove And Epoxy Those Area. Also Remove Any Water In The Hull And I Would Check For Any Leaks In The Hull. If You Are Going To Race The Sunfish I Would Not Gelcoat The Boat Because You Are Just Adding Weight To It.

Chris,