Winter Hull Storage

G

I store my boat for the winter on a lakefront dock (wood w/fixed steel legs). Last year I pulled the hull onto two bunks and covered w/a tarp, had some snow/ice buildup in the cockpit, despite trying to "tent" it with PVC pipe.

Others have suggested that I turn the hull upside down and skip the tarp. Is this better for the hull (avoid depressions from bunks)?

Do I need to remove the jibcars to prevent damage?

Is there risk of damage to teak coamings; the bow fitting; the mast tabernacle; or the mainsheet swivel block/barney post, from the weight of the hull (I have a Mod 2)?

Should I now cover the bottom of the hull with a tarp?

Do I need to do anything to secure the centerboard?

Any other pros/cons for either method?

Thx in advance.

I'm no expert, but I do know that the hull is heavy! I'm not sure how you would turn it over safely. It seems to me that turning it over introduces unnecessary risk that something might go wrong as you turn it. But maybe others will advise that it can be done safely.

My boat sits on a trailer all winter (as do many others I would guess) which has two large bunks for the main support as well as rollers underneath and the hull seems to be in good shape - no depressions. But, now you have me wondering about how it will be ten years from now.

Have you tried laying the mast across the boat, resting on the transom and the foredeck, to serve as a support for the tarp so that the rain runs off? Snow won't run off until it melts, so you would have to pull the tarp tight enough to prevent it from sagging from the weight of the snow.

Paul