windward boat-port/starboard

Discussion in 'Laser Talk' started by lasereng, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. lasereng

    lasereng Member

    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    we had an all in handicap race at my club 2 weeks back and as us lasers were approaching the windward mark on port a faster assymetric port had rounded and was the windward boat on a broad reach on starboard.
    they shouted for us all to get out the way...no problem, but afterwards i thought doesn't the port/starboard get over-ruled by the need for the windward boat to keep clear???
    im confused lol, can u just clarify it for me, i guess port/starboard over-rules windward boat keeping clear?
     
  2. Rob B

    Rob B Active Member

    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Nope. P/S still rules. Windward/leeward comes into play on same tack vessels.
     

Share This Page