wind indicator

Discussion in 'Laser Talk' started by maverick, Jun 21, 2008.

1. maverick

maverick New Member

I am relatively new to racing lasers and I have seen some guys with wind indicators and some without. are they useful or not?

2. John Gilmour

John Gilmour Member

It all depends on whether you find them useful. If you can figure out the wind without an indicator, then skip it. Personally, I find an indicator very helpful, especially in light, shifty winds. Of course, light shifty conditions are when an indicator does not work especially well.

3. Ross B

Ross B Guest

I won't sail without one

4. Mattcm

Mattcm Member

I think they are very useful downwind as it is good to know how far dw or by the lee you are sailing. I don't think they are essential but I sailed for a while without one but now that I have a wind indicator I am used to it and miss it when I don't sail with it.

5. DK Sailor

DK Sailor New Member

i think their worthless

6. fracisco

fracisco New Member

I like having the little flag on top of the mast for downwind. It is worthless upwind.

7. Zoophyte

Zoophyte New Member

Wow, those are some impressive arguments against the use of a wind indicator guys, you've completely convinced me.

For Sale* - One pre-loved Black Max wind indicator which no longer indicates the apparent direction the wind is coming from. Paid $30 new, selling for $1.99 or may be willing to exchange for a crystal ball :rolleyes:

* Note: This is not an actual offer for sale. I'm with Ross B. on this one, I won't sail without it.

8. Levent

Levent Member

Very convincing this interesting conversation ...

9. matt182763

matt182763 pwner of n00bs

I love my indicator going downwind, extremly helpfull, going upwind is only helpfull if the wind is under 5kts

10. Murphs

Murphs New Member

I have found that I over-rely on the wind indicator if I use one, my results tend to be better when I don't use it and 'get my head out of the boat'.