Why the Laser ?

Mariner

I am a noob to the racing dinghy concept and am just starting to get my feet wet (pun) and I have a question for the devoted Laser racers

Why the Laser ? Why not the Snipe ? The Lighting ? The Skiff ? What boats are the fastest ? Can I get that information in a list by order ?

Tks in advance; I am merely sponging knowledge

:)

these are my reasons. As a lot of people here are American, they may bear no relation to anything useful for you:

Why the Laser ?

Good single handed sailing.

Easy to trailer and launch single handed.

Sail area matched body weight which matched the common wind strengths of my area.

Design good for local conditons. No big areas of open boat to fill with water.

Good club fleets in most areas.

Fast to rig up.

Low cost of maintenance.

OD and single sail concentrated my efforts on improving my skill, rather than spending my time getting lost in extra go-fast tack ons and buying my way through the fleet. It's a great feeling everytime you see yourself finally nail a technique or make an improvement. You know you did it, not your wallet. For me, the laser seems to lead forward into sailing more than any other boat I've sailed. Might be the boat, might just be coincidence.

Good resale value. (No, spectacular resale value. I don't know why people pay so much for used lasers. I certainly did :eek: )

Why not the Snipe ? The Lighting ? The Skiff ? What boats are the fastest ?

No local club fleets - I wanted to race.

Expensive to maintain a competitive boat.

Range of wind that I would be able to keep the thing down in was limited.

Depending on the availablilty of crew just so I could sail was not an option.

A beginner could sail a skiff, but they would have to be seriously fired up and impervious to any physical, mental and financial setbacks till they learned to sail rather than swim.