WANTED: Laser Parts

Discussion in 'Laser Wanted Ads' started by jmh226, Dec 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmh226

jmh226 New Member

Hi, I'm completely new to Laser sailing, but just picked up a hull at a good price and want to get into it. I currently have the hull only and am therefore looking for everything else that I need (daggerboard, rudder assembly, spars, sail). After doing some research, I think that I want to set the boat up with a radial rig. At this point I'm basically just looking to sail recreationally so I don't necessarily need super high performance gear, or even anything race legal, but I also don't want old beat up junk. If you think you've got parts for me reply here or e-mail me at jmh226[at]gmail.com Thanks!

2. Wavedancer

Wavedancer Upside down? Staff Member

Please be aware that this approach may end up being pretty expensive and time consuming :eek:. I wish you luck though....

3. jmh226

jmh226 New Member

Wavedancer...so what would you propose I do? Just look for a complete boat and buy that instead? How much do used parts generally go for? I mean I think I only need spars, a daggerboard, a rudder assumbly and a sail right? or am I missing something here?

4. Wavedancer

Wavedancer Upside down? Staff Member

I suggest that you start making a list (it's the season for that :)) of all the parts you need and get list prices. Some parts are not readily available used and others you may be able to get, say at 50% of new (you can put in your own number if you think 50% is too high). Add up the numbers and see what total expense you might be facing. Then ask yourself whether that amount is acceptable to you. Also when you want to go sailing. If you wait long enough you might be able to get most parts used, but another year may have gone by :eek:!
    Your location is also relevant. Used parts should be more readily available, if you live in an area with active fleets.