Shark bite in bow...help!

Discussion in 'Sunfish Talk' started by dougd, Sep 12, 2016.

Tags:
  1. dougd

dougd New Member

This is a 1983 Sunfish. I acquired this boat at no charge. Can this be fixed? I have no experience in such matters, but I am eager to learn. All comments welcome!

IMG_20160912_163028.jpg

2. Light and Variable Winds

Light and Variable Winds Well-Known Member

Thanks for the good close up photo. That bow has taken quite a hit! :eek: Another photo from above of the foredeck might help in figuring-out where to start. It looks like a "seasoned" bow handle, so keep in mind a new bow handle can be bolted on during this repair process. (No screws to pull out under extreme lifting circumstances).

Could this bow receive similar damage from where this Sunfish was stored when it got damaged? (A marina or club dock?) My repair would look different, if that's the case.

Since this particular repair is above my pay grade, :( I'll hand this one off to members experienced in major repairs: Webfoot1 and/or Mixmkr. I'd be tempted to install a bowsprit (for a jib) or a docking light! ;)

3. mixmkr

mixmkr Active Member

Of course. The better the job, the more invisible the repair becomes. So...a "10" looks like factory new. (but the experienced eye will still always see the repair unless the entire boat is painted, etc)

4. Light and Variable Winds

Deck photos or not, the pop-rivets holding the bow rail need to be removed. Use a drill bit of 1/8" or larger. Drill the center/top of the pop-rivet and when it spins, tilt the drill about 30 degrees, keep drilling, and the pop-rivet will drop out. Store the rail any place it won't get stepped on! :eek:

Start to locate a store that has those 1/8" (diameter) new replacement pop-rivets, and buy a box of 1/8" lengths. That size never seems to stay in stock! :confused: You'll need to start with a West Systems® epoxy kit—at Amazon for less than $40—so might-as-well start one in transit.