LUFFING (RULE 11, 14, 16, 17)

Discussion in 'Laser Talk' started by Memphis Mud, Oct 10, 2002.

  1. Memphis Mud

    Memphis Mud New Member

    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Winds 1 kt. Almost close hauled. Same tack (S). I established my overlap outside 2 boatlengths. Over the next minute, I converged to within 6-8 feet of W. I hailed and changed my course to converge on W. She headed up. My course still converged. She headed up. Then she was close to head to wind. I was not.

    My side was now close to her stern/side. She was sailing at a reduced speed, but moving.

    I say she could not tack until I drifted out of the way. She tacked, thus pivoting her stern into me.

    She says I didn't leave her room to keep clear. I say I left her room to keep clear but not room to tack. She should've tacked earlier. Or waited till I drifted out of the way of her stern.

    I do have to leave her room to keep clear, but who says she MUST be able to tack. She could've kept clear by: 1. tacking earlier. 2. sailing slowly in same direction.
     

Share This Page