How much is too much wind

creymartin

I thought last weekend would be the day I first tried sailing the Minifish

I have LIMITED sailing experience (read a bunch about theory, sailed maybe four times in Hobie Cats and a Rumba)

Athough not a lake, I will be sailing in an inlet of the North Shore of Long Island (Cold Spring Harbor). The only waves I have seen are those produced by cruising motorboats.

Flags were flapping at good 20 knots last Sunday; it seemed impossible to me that the boat would not immediately capsize, so the lack of cojones postponed the outing.

What would be the IDEAL wind speed to enjoy sailing in one of these? What would be the maximum that would make it impossible?

Considering your situation, I would say 5-15 mph. Once you get more experience, you can test your skills at higher windspeeds. Sunfish that are in good shape can handle pretty 'stressful' situations (up to 30 mph, I think), but I don't know much about the capabilities of the Minifish. Use your judgment, and be on the safe side. Obviously, things tend to break at the more extreme windspeeds. And be extra conservative when venturing out all alone.

This may be a good time to mention wearing a Personal Flotation Device
(PFD, life jacket) anytime sailing a small sailboat like the Sunfish or Minifish is a good idea. After a capsize, is is possible to get separated from your boat and the PFD takes a lot of the panic out of the picture especially if you are quite a way from shore in choppy, windy conditions.

I agree that the Sunfish can safely handle up to 30 MPH winds - after that things start to bend and break and it becomes more of a survival contest rather than pleasure sailing. The Mini being smaller and a little less stable, 25 mph wind may be the top end.

...However, sailing a Sunfish on a broad reach in 35 mph steady wind is a fine madness and can be pulled off safely if you are experienced and keep your wits about you! God hates cowards and sometimes you have go for it.