Help me sail!

Darren01610

Four days ago I was exploring one of my grandfather's old barns and to my surprise I found two boats sat next to each other. At first I thought they were just row boats but upon further exploration I found daggerboards, masts and one sail. They were in a sorry state and so I am very slowly (time allowing) sanding them down and repairing them, I expect to have the first one ready to go within a few weeks. It would be quicker but I have to work on it around my college life and the work that comes with it. Anyway, it is all very well and good that I now own two boats but unfortunately I have no idea how to use them. Being a student I have no money whatsoever to join a sailing club nevermind get lessons so my question to the community is how did you learn to sail? and, Is it possible to learn without spending 'too' much money.

Thanks for taking the time to read my ridiculously long post for such a simple question!

Darren.

Four days ago I was exploring one of my grandfather's old barns and to my surprise I found two boats sat next to each other. At first I thought they were just row boats but upon further exploration I found daggerboards, masts and one sail. They were in a sorry state and so I am very slowly (time allowing) sanding them down and repairing them, I expect to have the first one ready to go within a few weeks. It would be quicker but I have to work on it around my college life and the work that comes with it. Anyway, it is all very well and good that I now own two boats but unfortunately I have no idea how to use them. Being a student I have no money whatsoever to join a sailing club nevermind get lessons so my question to the community is how did you learn to sail? and, Is it possible to learn without spending 'too' much money.

Thanks for taking the time to read my ridiculously long post for such a simple question!

Darren.
Check out books from your library