Heaving To

hainesta

Hi all,
I recently took a trip out to Santa Barbara and spent a couple of days taking private lessons on a Capri 16.5... Great fun!! My instructor taught me about Heaving to and it seemed to work very well on that particular boat.
I have read several procedures online on how to do this but I was wondering if anyone had any experience with this on a !4.2... Is it possible with a boat this small? I'm a novice and am just wondering if the size of the boat matters. Most of the procedures I've read online seem to be for larger yachts.

Thanks in advance
Tim

How to heave-to

Here's how: On a close reach, sheet the jib all the way in. Now tack the boat, leaving the jib alone while letting the mainsheet all the way out.

Now you'll find yourself on the opposite tack with the jib on the "wrong side" and pressed against the upwind shroud. The mainsail will be luffing freely on the downwind side. You can take your hand off the tiller if you wish, as the boat will sail slowly and peacefully along like a little duckling, but making a lot of leeway.

We sometimes do this when we have to kill time between races, but want a rest from sailing back and forth while staying near the starting area. It's safe to do in a strong breeze, but be sure to let the main sheet run free as you turn.

To start back up, let the jib go and sheet it in normally, then sheet in the main.

Hey Ed, tell us more. I heard a different variation of this: after you tack, leave the jib as you describe but sheet in the main. Then lash the tiller over the other side (as if you want to tack again) and hold it there. The boat is supposed to rock back and forth. The main propels it forward, then luffs and the jib pushes it back. The main fills again and propels it forward, etc. Although I always meant to try this, I never did. However people claim it works.