Frustrated with Craigslist

Discussion in 'Sunfish Wanted Ads' started by Throwdown, Jul 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Throwdown

Throwdown Member

So, I'm a newbie, trying to buy a fishie. I have responded to every single Sunfish ad, within 200 miles of my house, about 15 so far. Two that I went to see that were advertised as Sunfishes were not Sunfishes, one a dolphin and one a sailfish. The rest, except for one, has not responded, either by email or phone call, but they keep reposting, even sailboat stores! I feel like the girl in Pretty Woman....so how long did it take you to find the perfect, or not so perfect one? And how did you eventually find them?

2. Alan S. Glos

Alan S. Glos Active Member

The problem is that "Sunfish" has almost become a generic term for any small, sailboat. and people on CraigsList often mis-lable what they are selling and you end up driving 3 hours only to find that the "Sunfish" described is a Mallard or some such thing. Demand photos to make sure that what you are looking at is actually a Sunfish and not a Sunfish clone or something different altogether. Problems notwithstanding, CraigsList is still the best way to buy or sell a small sailboat.

Alan Glos

3. sailcraftri

sailcraftri Well-Known Member

What area of the country are you looking? If you are near New England I can help finding a Sunfish.

4. Throwdown

Throwdown Member

No, not even close, all the way down inTexas, where it's just starting to get good and warm and we can sail year round:cool:

5. sblanck

sblanck Member

I am in Austin and picked up a mini sunfish and a sailfish from one guy. I do see the same boats on CL everyday.

6. minifish2

minifish2 Active Member