Capsize Recovery

larrys

I'm very new to Laser sailing and don't have a lot of experience righting the boat from a capsize (As a clumsy keel boat sailor I to be practicing this technique a good bit - ha!). Recently I had quite a time getting the boat to come back up by pulling on the dagger board. I'm fairly light, 138 lbs.. Any advice on how to make this easier would be much appreciated.
Thanks..:D

Point 'er into the wind, grab a hold of that daggerboard (fully out I might add, you need the leverage!) and get as much of your weight out of the water. Be patient and hang until the boat rights itself. Don't get smacked in the head!

T

Good advice!

I am around 150 lbs and I do have a bit of a hard time as well when I am in the water with the full rig and it's windy. It's definitely easier for me to get the Radial back up.

As the boat goes over, try to jump over the top and land on the dagger board. It makes for a much quicker recovery. Also, when the boat comes back up, try and step back in. If done correctly, you won't get wet!

yeah... just do it this
way ;-)

Some catamaran sailors bring a big trash bag with them that they can fill with water and hang over their shoulder to get more leverage to right the boat from the water, but even the lightest person should be able to right a Laser... just hook your toes into the underside of the gunwale and try to climb up on the dagger board. It will pop right up even if it's completely turtled.

The only capsize I couldn't recover from was when my mast stuck in the mud in the C-15

When you're trying to climb out of the water onto the daggerboard, kick you legs in the watter a little bit. It will give you some extra umph.

In one of my CYA bronze sail courses, we had a girl who couldn't have been more than 110 lbs. We were doing dry rolls solo in Club Juniors. Even with her weight all the way out on the centerboard, she couldn't get the boat to right.