Buying a Laser

EDWARD BYRNE

Hi All

I am a complete newby and looking at a used Laser at my local yacht club. The hull seems very sound and no soft deck at all. I rigged it with a local yachting guy and the only thing that caught our attention was the free play between the mast and the tube it slips into. there was approximately 18mm of free play backwards and forwards and about half that from side to side.

The foot of the mast has a rubber? cup maybe 20mm in height making it effectively wider at that point.

There is evidence of repair work around the top of the tube with some sanding off shown. Also a few "gloops" of hardened resin on the inner sides of the tube. The lower section of the mast is marked "Radial". There is only one (radial) sail.

Is what I have described normal or will this need work?

My thanks in advance

It sounds like it's been worked on -- pictures would help a whole lot in offering a view, if you can get them posted / attached.
Also - look at other Lasers. Hopefully there's at least one more at the yacht club. Or look around on this forum for pictures, or google for pic's of a Laser mast + mast hole.

When you say "18mm of free play" - can you describe or draw or take a picture of what you mean? If that free play is at the top of the mast, that doesn't sound excessive.

There's a thread on here about buying a used Laser that I highly recommend you read too.