A new Respect for Sailors of smaller Boats

Billy WIlliams

Hi fellow sailors, I've been sailing for about twenty years now and have owned five different sailboats 25' and under. But just two weeks ago I bought a Sunfish, a nice little "Toy" boat. I never spent this much time overboard and "In The Drink" in all my 30+ years Kayaking the rivers of West Virginia and North Carolina. I'm 60 years old and thought I would just get this little boat to play with since I retired and moved here to Florida. I've got to learn to sail all over again. I still sail a 16' and a 21' now, but this Sunfish thing is an eyeopener. My hat is off to all you folks that can handle these little rockets the way you do, my hats off, my sunglasses and anything else that was not tied to me. I'm having a real good time, just like when I got my first sailboat, a 25', just staying a lot wetter. Hope to see some of you in the Intracoastal Waterway here in Melbourne Fl., I'll be the wet old guy climbing onto the dagger board.

Attachments

• SunFish Capt. 2.jpg
    SunFish Capt. 2.jpg
    310.7 KB · Views: 96
I moved "down" to a Sunfish after owning three catamarans—including a 18'x10' Matrix, 18'x8' Hobie Formula, and a 20'x10' Tornado. Had some fun, but Sunfish are a lot faster to rig, more fun for the dollar, easier to right, and cheaper to repair. 'Should have gone to Sunfish years ago.

Welcome! Any idea what kind of boat the sail came from? It's sleeved like a Phantom sail, but that's not a Phantom logo (at least I don't think it is).

Welcome! Any idea what kind of boat the sail came from? It's sleeved like a Phantom sail, but that's not a Phantom logo (at least I don't think it is).